Ah, Universe, thou Joker

I worked with a client today, spending about 15 minutes on the phone and online, helping fix her problem.  As we were wrapping up, she said, "Tom? Would you be offended if I gave you a Bible verse to look up?"

"No, ma'am."

"It's Isaiah 11:6-9.  It deals with God's kingdom on earth.  Some people are convinced the end times are near…"

"Yes, ma'am.  Thanks for calling.  Have a nice day."

Yeah, I wrote it down on a Post-It note and brought it home.  It reads, " 6The wolf also shall dwell with the lamb, and the leopard shall lie down with the kid; and the calf and the young lion and the fatling together; and a little child shall lead them…" (KJV)

The calf and the young lion and the fatling together? Whoa.  Sounds idyllic. 

Then driving home, I saw this:

I guess either Isaiah wasn't aware of ospreys' predilection for snatching fish from their reveries, or we still have a little time to go before lions and calves should hold sleepovers.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

5 Responses to “Ah, Universe, thou Joker”

  1. LOL. Do many of your clients proselytise on the phone? Must be a great way for you to cultivate patience…

  2. LOL.I don't think the lady watches the news either. You don't have to be a genius to realize that there are very few "wolves" dwelling with the lambs.

  3. I'm a fatling, does this mean that I should expect to wake up any day now with a young lion and a calf in the bed? I think the little child would worry me more, a young lion might be kind of cool once housetrained. I'd love to have some veal too.

  4. HHHHHHHaaaaa. That's great. That's all.

  5. Whether it works or not, I'd like to see it all put together and played out.My money's on the leopard.

Leave a comment