100

I love to read. For me, it’s an escape into another reality, maybe a completely fictional one. Other times, a book transports me into a different time or place, even into another person’s life.

When I started my 2012 Goodreads Reading Challenge, my goal was 52 books–one a week, right? Before long, I was so far ahead, that I upped it to an even 100. I was kicking ass, too, reading like crazy through mid-April. That’s when my little brain thing happened.

I read four books in May, three in June, one in July, three in August, and two in September.

Today, I read “Franny and Zooey,” which marks #100.

franny_and_zooey

It sucks that the months when I was deepest down, I couldn’t read. It was nearly impossible to focus from paragraph to paragraph. There were odd days where I could pick up a book and read sorta-normally, but they were rare. As I healed from the depression–slowwwly–I began to get back my old reading skill. One day, it was like a dam burst, or somebody cranked-on a dripping tap, and I was able to blast through books again.

It’s not like I cured cancer, brokered lasting world peace, or did anything of great empirical importance.

But it felt so damned good to read “Franny and Zooey” this afternoon, and know that–no matter how much this year has absolutely sucked for my brain–I was able to put down my completed book, high-five myself, and know that I managed one little victory in a year of defeats. Here’s the list http://www.goodreads.com/review/list/5024047-tom?utf8=%E2%9C%93&read_at=2012&view=covers&per_page=100

One hundred books. Fuck, yeah.

2 Responses to “100”

  1. Good for you, Tom. Just don’t start reciting the Jesus Prayer, will you? (Also don’t remember if it was you I recommended The Marriage Plot to recently but that has some F and Z references in it).

    • I have added The Marriage Plot to my list. Thanks for the tip.

      Back, say, 7.5 years ago, when I was spiritually bankrupt and largely flammable (literally), I actually read “The Way of the Pilgrim.” Franny is right: it is a neat little book, and basically it’s exactly as described in F&Z. Sadly, I never quite got The Jesus Prayer to make me stop my hall-of-fame liquor consumption. It would’ve been much cheaper than rehab. 😉

Leave a Reply

