Practice, Practice, Practice

I don’t know what possessed me to watch this video today. I was in a weird, introspective sort of mood, and somehow this pairing popped into my head. One of my shrinks said something very wise (after he handed me a sheaf of psych med prescriptions). The more days I can wake up, take a shower, brush my teeth, and go to work–the more “normal” days I have–the easier they will become. “You’ll be practicing living normally, and the more you practice, the more natural it will become. You’ll be healing with every day.”

Naturally, that led me to this. These two guys make what they do look so easy, even though they’re both extraordinary. I watch this, and I think, “Hell, my fingers can do that,” or “Jeez, it’s just opening your mouth and singing.”

Not quite that simple. Singing a song composed to honor Richard Manuel of the Band, who hanged himself in a motel room a county or two away, here are two guys who practiced their asses off to make it look really, really easy.

6 Responses to “Practice, Practice, Practice”

  1. Well, that’s pretty freakin’ awesome.

    • I love how Pavarotti keeps looking around and smiling like a little kid. Also, that choir had some serious vocal game in their own right, but I can’t help but imagine they heard Luciano sing, and thought, “Holy SHIT!”

  2. Holy SHIT is about right. Wow, I’d never heard this before. Thank you!

    Here’s wishing you more normal, my fine furred friend. 🙂

    • Thanks, L. When we get near Christmas, there’s an awesome “Oh Come All Ye Faithful” with Luciano singing with Vanessa Williams. She has a nice voice, but I give her credit for daring to sing next to that guy. What a force of nature.

  3. Bach famously said — or is attributed to have said — playing the harpsichord is easy. You just hit the right notes and the right time.

    • Bach was right–there’s nothing to it! Pavarotti didn’t even know the words! He was just reading them as he went along, and they came out like that.

      After I watched this a few times, I went in and picked up my Telecaster. It seems Fender neglected to put those notes on my guitar, because I wasn’t finding them.

Leave a Reply

