Interview With A…whatever the hell I am

My friend, Stephanie, posted something called “The Interview Game” on her blog. It’s a neat idea, so I volunteered to be next.

Here’s a quick run down on how to play and her original post here: *-Leave me a comment saying, “Interview Me.” Please include your e-mail address if it is not in your profile.

*-I will respond by emailing you five questions. (I get to pick the questions.)

*-You will update your blog with the answers to the questions.

*-You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the same post. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you send them 5 questions of your own for them to answer.

*- Got it? Excellent. Let’s begin.

1) If you could read any book again for the first time, what would it be?

“Harry Potter and the Philosopher/Sorceror’s Stone.” I first read this shortly before the first film was released, and Harry Potter hype was everywhere. Even my 7-Eleven had a display of HP paperbacks for sale. I went to the 7-Eleven buzzed one Saturday night, saw the display, and I sort of snapped. I bought book one just to read it, and thus be able to mock Potter Fever advisedly. I read it the next afternoon, and I was hooked shortly. Still, I wish I’d opened the book with an open mind.

2) What is your favorite holiday cocktail?

B&B in a giant snifter. It warms the gullet, relaxes the spirit, and leaves a slight honey aftertaste on the tongue. The Monks know their stuff.

3) What movie are you most anticipating seeing in 2012?

The David Fincher version of “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo.” I know it opens this weekend, but I won’t go till next year.

4) Christmas Dinner: ham or turkey?

Usually ham, but I object to neither.

5) Which would you rather survive–a zombie apocalypse, or an alien invasion?

Zombie apocalypse. Aliens would be too smart. Plus, I don’t think zombies would be insurmountable, as long as I didn’t panic.

Connected

7 Responses to “Interview With A…whatever the hell I am”

  1. Pick me, pick me! I have two more days of work to fill and I don’t feel like working.

    I wasn’t going to see the US version of the Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, because the original was so good, but now that the reviews are coming out, I think I must.

  2. Nice! I got questions from Steph and Kelly — I’ll do a post of 15 if I can get 5 from you!

  3. Here are the “Interview With Tom” questions. Sorry if they’re lame. I’ve put my answers to them in parentheses; sorry, too, if THOSE are also lame. I’ll leave them as a general comment, in case anyone else wants to answer them for fun and/or profit.

    1) Is there a book or movie that you read/watch repeatedly? Sort of the equivalent of a literary or cinematic blanky? (With me, it’s “Paradise Postponed,” by John Mortimer, and “Casablanca,” “Serenity,” “V for Vendetta,” and “Inception.”)

    2) If you could write yourself into one novel or movie, which one would it be? (I’d probably write myself into “Casablanca,” since I already know it far too well–I already wrote Annie the Soapmaker into “Casablanca”)

    3) If you could copy and paste one character from one novel or film into another, which character? And into which novel or film? (I wrote both Lisbeth Salander and Hermione Granger into “Casablanca,” and made them lovers (I bastardized “Casablanca” so much during Lent, that I’m certain )

    4) If you could have one novelist rewrite an existing novel, whom and which would you choose? (I’d have the Harry Potter septet rewritten by James Ellroy, which would be awesome)

    5) What is your favorite “guilty pleasure” movie? Meaning, which movie can you watch over and over, and laugh yourself half mad, and yet you know it’s not empirically good? (“Tommy Boy” works for me)

    Happy Festivus tomorrow!

  4. Happy Festivus, Tom!
    I enjoy reading these!
    I am rereading the Harry Potter series right now. Am just starting Goblet of Fire.

  5. You didn’t answer my questions. Consider me pouting.

Leave a Reply

