Perspective

image

The big thing on the left-center? That’s our Moon.

In the bottom right? That’s Jupiter and its four largest moons, three of which are each larger than our Moon.

With the forced perspective in this photograph, our Moon looks pretty impressive.

image

This picture shows our world next to Jupiter. That big white dot in the first picture dwarfs our little blue marble, this world that seems so vast and unknowable, where all our problems so daunting and insurmountable are smaller than one storm on Jupiter.

I have to remember that. I have to remember that all my storms that seem so bloody huge are really just gnat poots compared to far bigger, more turbulent winds that blow elsewhere.

Happy Weekend from my relatively calm, safe, blessed little corner of the Universe.

4 Responses to “Perspective”

  1. “Gnat poots” is a wonderful phrase. Happy Sunday, Tom.

  2. Amen, Tom. 🙂

  3. Wonderful post. I will be using “gnat poots”. Perhaps I can order them online?

    It always gives me a thrill to see Saturn’s rings, or Jupiter’s moons through my birding scope. *shivers*

Leave a Reply

