Pretty Pretty Patterns: Lent in Casablanca, Night 21

For some reason, as I watched Casablanca last night, for the 21st consecutive night, all I could think of was a wonderful short story by Charlotte Perkins Gilman, “The Yellow Wallpaper.” It’s about a woman who’s subjected to the same visual day in and day out, and she starts to go mad. 

I think I might be on my way.

Read the short story, though, here:  http://www.pagebypagebooks.com/Charlotte_Perkins_Gilman/The_Yellow_Wallpaper/The_Yellow_Wallpaper_p1.html

It’s free and it’s awesome, and it kind of explains why I now look like this.

Mwahahahahahaha. 

Sorry.  Seriously, read “The Yellow Wallpaper.” It’s awesome.  Happy impending Weekend.

(note: the creepy faced guy in the bottom pic  is the same actor as the rather dashing Nazi on the left in the top photo)

4 Responses to “Pretty Pretty Patterns: Lent in Casablanca, Night 21”

  1. Gilman was an early, and important, feminist writer. “The Yellow Wallpaper” is a terrifying portrait of a woman suffering from post-partum depression and the men who do all the wrong things b/c they “know best”.

    So, unless you’ve recently had a baby, plus have hideous wallpaper, you’re fine.

    • One of the highlights of my Lit degree classes was reading this story a few different times during my edumacation. I re-read it tonight before I wrote this. It was just as amazing now.

      The thought that set me off was the scene in La Belle Aurore, during the flashback. For the first time, I noticed there was a table with other patrons! Where the hell had they been all this time? Then I started to fixate on little details, like how Captain Renault smokes vs how Rick smokes.

      As far as early feminists go, I also re-read Kate Chopin’s “The Awakening,” which was another favorite of that era. It’s sad the degree to which women were treated more like children than actual adults.

      • “For the first time, I noticed there was a table with other patrons! Where the hell had they been all this time?”

        Hiiiiding behind the pattern…. 😛

        That’s a seriously great story. Interesting that you should mention how women were treated more like children than adults. I’ve been doing some reading about that the last couple of days.

  2. Haha! hiding behind the pattern. I lol’d.

Leave a Reply

