Comparative Nazis 101: Lent in Casablanca, Night 11

One thought I had on my last nightly journey through Casablanca is that nobody eats.

The only exception is Major Strasser, who enjoys a tin of caviar while questioning Rick.

People drink constantly and smoke like chimneys, but nobody eats.

I compare this with Quentin Tarentino’s “Inglourious Basterds.”

Basterds is a masterpiece, by the way. I was skeptical, but holy crap. It takes liberties, but it’s a fascinating film, and I was shocked, shocked to find there’s gambling in this establishment!

Sorry. Capt Renault snuck in from Casablanca.

Subtitles. There were subtitles in Basterds, which was a surprise.

Christoph Waltz deserved every award on earth for his portrayal of “The Jew Hunter” in Basterds. He imbued the role with such panache and flair, with a core of pure evil.

One of my favorite scenes in Basterds involves him and Shoshanna eating streudel in a classy French restaurant. The sensual appreciation he shows, insisting on waiting for the whipped cream…gorgeous.

In Casablanca, they drink. And they wait. And they watch Major Strasser eat caviar, and they wonder why they have never eaten anything. Then they light another cigarette, hope Sam plays “It Had to Be You,” and listen to the rumble in their stomachs (or is it the plane to Lisbon?). It’s a dreary pantomime of–

Gotta run. My Chinese food is here. (I hope Col Landa isn’t delivering this time) Happy equinox.

5 Responses to “Comparative Nazis 101: Lent in Casablanca, Night 11”

  1. I’d rather drink and nibble on caviar than eat strudel. Honestly, the last time I had strudel I was so sick from the whipped cream, I spent the rest of Sommerfest in the bathroom.

    Hope your Chinese food was good. It wasn’t Cuban Chinese, was it? I’ve heard about it but never tried it.

    • Believe it or not, this one Chinese Drive-Thru (sic, that was its real name) had a Latino cook. Same Americanised Chinese food as ever, though.

      I’m not a fan of caviar, myself. I was perfectly happy with Bourbon and cigarettes back in the day. Well, and a pound or so of miscellaneous Taco Bell food once I got home, of course. After enough years of that regimen, I doubt bad streudel creme can hurt me. 😉

  2. “Basterds” was much better than I expected it to be. I was surprised how much it drew me in.

    • I agree. It surprised me as well. I think the misspelled title sort of put me off the film. I hate to sound priggish, but it’s true. By the end of the scene where Christoph Waltz grills the French dairy farmer, I knew i’d found a new fave QT film.

  3. I just caught up on your nice little ramblings and what I was left with is: You can get chinese DELIVERED? Lucky bum!

    I’m sure they’re not eating in an attempt to counterbalance the sugar calories in mixed drinks, though.

Leave a Reply

