Ah, Latin: Sola lingua bona est lingua mortua

Latin is awesome.  I don’t know why, but Latin always impresses me, both when I read something that uses it (assuming I understand, of course), or when I drop a little dead language magnificence.

And that’s the thing.  It’s a dead language, and yet people who are smart (or wish to appear that way) still use it.  That speaks well of something.

Anyway, herewith are some common Latin phrases, defined and ready for you to utilize in your daily communications.

Ad infinitum: To infinity, without end

Ad hominem: Appealing to ones human urges

Add hominy: Please bring me grits with my breakfast

Annus horribilis: Horrible year

Annus mirabilis: Year of wonders

Anus trumpetus: Flatulence

Bona fide: In good faith (ie, fairly)

Bona fortuna: Good luck

Bona massiva: Adult film actor

Cogito ergo sum: I think, therefore I am

Cogito ergo doleo: I think, therefore I grow depressed

Cogito mammarii: I think about boobies

Cum laude: With praise

Cum grano salis: With a grain of salt

Cum shot: (not touching this one)

Ex post facto: After the fact

Ex officio: By virtue of the office

Ex dinerius: Alimony

Gloria Patri: Glory be to the Father

Gloria in exelcis deo: Glory to God in the highest

Gloria Estefan: Small, wealthy Latin singer

Magnum bonum: A great good

Magnum opus: A great work

Magnum force:  Second Dirty Harry film

Mare liberum:  An open sea

Mare nostrum: Our sea (the Mediterranean)

Mare winningham: Two-time Emmy winner

Sub rosa: Under the rose (secretly)

Sub poena: Under penalty of law

Sub movie: The Hunt for Red October

Tempus fugit: Time flies

Tempus neminem manet: Time waits for no one

Tempus wastedus: You’ve been reading Dispatches from The Tom Zone

(Happy New Anno)

12 Responses to “Ah, Latin: Sola lingua bona est lingua mortua”

  1. You forgot Magnum pi.

  2. Sub movie made me laugh. That’s a favorite movie of mine!

    I would add Wingardium leviosa to the list just because the first Harry Potter book is available in Latin.

    • Merlin’s pants, you’re right! I neglected all manner of Latinate Harry Potterisms.

      Hunt for Red October is awesome. It’s one of my favorites as well. Whenever I read Tom Clancy novels, I pictured Alec Baldwin, not Harrison Ford, and especially not Ben Affleck.

  3. Ha! I would have defined “ad infinitum” as ‘blah blah blah’ but “sub movie” was genius. But when I read your blog, tempus fugit. Felix sit annus novus, tomas!

    • Thanks, Professor Gozen. Alarmingly, I violated the Comedy Rule of Threes with the first group. I had four “Ad…” phrases. Thank goodness I corrected it, or I’d have had perpetrated unbalanced.

  4. …comedy. 😉

  5. So, how exactly does Pig Latin fit in with all this?

  6. LOL.
    I am so glad I didn’t miss this!

    Anus trumpetis. Doot do DOOO!!!

Leave a Reply

