More NASA Awesomeness, Less Dumb Crap

image

I love this photograph (taken from apod.nasa.gov). It brings to mind Boston’s eponymous debut, with the giant guitar spaceships. Except these lack necks. And these are real. 

To me, the galaxies look like they’re captured in some sort of motion, giant star frisbees waiting for some 25,000 light-year tall border collie to fetch.

Ah well. Just my idea. Happy Monday.

9 Responses to “More NASA Awesomeness, Less Dumb Crap”

  1. What if the universe and all the others are actually just the atomic structure of a much bigger thing? What if somewhere out there are billions more of these cosmic collections that make up a really big guy who likes to sit on a bean bag chair eating cheetos and watching reruns of Gilligan’s Island?

  2. Great find. I love the Hubble Ultra Deep Field photos.

  3. When I see these pictures I get all speechless and awed.

    I want to give the 25,000 light year border collie a biscuit!

  4. “To me, the galaxies look like they’re captured in some sort of motion, giant star frisbees waiting for some 25,000 light-year tall border collie to fetch.”

    Nice, tom! I like that simile and will think of it next time I see a comet crossing the night sky.

    • Thanks, Professor. If you see a giant border collie asterism fetching the comet, then returning it to Orion to throw again, then you’ll know I’ve finallly taken over. 😀

Leave a Reply

