Friday Evening Mental Chex Mix (snack size)

  • Happy Friday!
  • There are times where I need to e-mail a photo to myself, because I haven’t figured out how to save things from the NASA Images app to my picture gallery.
  • I’ll e-mail the picture to myself from one app to my e-mail.
  • My e-mail, in an odd display of self-loathing, tends to reject e-mails from itself as spam.
  • Oddly, e-mails from “skoolgirl_cumshot” make it through. Odd.
  • And no, I’m not a subscriber of “skoolgirl_cumshot”
  • Anymore
  • Just kidding
  • I’d like to file a complaint on behalf of two fine food substances who’ve gotten bad raps in popular nomenclature:
  • What did the lemon ever do to anyone to associate it with a poor car?
  • Lemons are a noble fruit (like Prince Charles (har!)). 
  • Seriously, without lemons, we wouldn’t have lemonade.  There are few beverages more refreshing on a hot summer day than lemonade.  Lemon oil helps keep our fine furniture fine, and degreases the world’s pots & pans.  Pledge? LEMON FRESH! Not Apple Fresh or Pear Fresh. It’s Lemon Fresh.  You don’t see grape meringue pies or strawberry-pepper chicken.  The lemon has been slandered by modern parlance, and I feel bad for it.  It’s time to pass legislation that makes a Lemon Law a positive thing.
  • Spam is a different story.  There’s nothing wrong with Spam.  It’s a lovely combination of pork shoulder and ham (and sodium omigodwhatthehell and vaguely creepy jelly stuff).  Spam is  well-beloved in the South, where it’s fried and made into sandwiches. 
  • In Hawaii, Spammania gets to a whole new level.  At McDonald’s and Burger King’s Hawaiian locations, you can buy Spam.  From Spamburgers for lunch to Spam, eggs, and rice breakfast platters. 
  • In my dealings with Spam, both as a Southerner and as a visitor to Hawaii, at no point did the can mention erection difficulties or improved mortgage rates.  “Asian He-She Pron?” Nope. 
  • Spam is a perfectly fine, consistant American foodstuff, and I’m sorry it’s been so abused in the press.
  • However, Spam in Lemon sauce would be gross.
  • I feel yucky, so I’m signing off.  Have a great weekend.
8 Responses to “Friday Evening Mental Chex Mix (snack size)”

  1. Oh Tom, you are a sick, sick man. Love you!

  2. Lemon with something is total win for me. I had a divine lemon cheesecake last week — without the lemon it wouldn’t have been divine, just plain ol’ cheesecake, just for one example.

  3. I’m not a huge fan of lemon and became even less of one when I read that they decrease the world supply of pots and pans. Oh, you actually said degrease. Hmmm, I still don’t put lemon at the top of my favourites list.

  4. Freedom Smith Says:

    Wow, you did a great job on the lemon tribute!! Yah. As for spam, yuck, makes me shiver.

    Hope you have a great weekend!

  5. Spam, eggs, spam, spam, baked beans, spam and sausage. Yummo!

  6. I salute your defense of foods whose names have been wrongly slandered. Spam has its place (which is sometimes inside me, though not as I age), and lemons are indeed fabulous. They’re a flavor which adds so much to many things. What about fish baked with some nice herbs and lemons?

    We have a lemon tree in our backyard. Turns out lemonade is a fine beverage in winter as well. Lemon juice, honey, and your choice of hot liquids? Great for sore throats and colds. (Better if you add the liquids Tom doesn’t use any more)

  7. I personally have loves of both lemon and spam- once you scrape the weird jelly crap off its rather nice.
    Spam fried and placed in between two slices of toast is a wonderous way to start any day.
    And I rather enjoy sqeezing the juice of a lemon into a glass of sprite, we call sprite lemonade here but my travels to the US have enlightened me to the joys of proper lemonade- though putting lemon juice in sprite is no where near as good.
    Once the teleporter is up and running I fully intend to drink copious amounts- perphaps on the side with a plate full of spam and toast.

Leave a Reply

