You Never Know Where You’ll Find Wisdom

It’s late Tuesday night, and I’m at the end of another weekend.  Tomorrow, it’s back to the oppressosphere for another four-day workblur.

I haven’t been especially happy this weekend.  I’m not sure why, exactly.  I felt stressed, like I just wanted to get stinking drunk and be irresponsible. Maybe in another life and time, that’s what I would have done. 

The weather here in Gommorrah has been gorgeous, an early (for us) autumn: pure blue skies, and temps from 64 to 82.

I was having a sort of hermity feeling, like I didn’t really want to see or talk to anyone.  Again, I don’t know why.

Somehow, I didn’t have that option.  Monday night, I went out to dinner with Team Punkin. Stacey wasn’t in the best mood to start with–she was stressed, and her back was hurting.  I wasn’t in a great mood either.  But that passed.  Shortstop and Princess make it hard for me to stay gloomy.  It was amazingly boosting to see them write their letters, and draw shapes to quiz me (“rectangular prisms” hadn’t been invented when I was in Kindergarten).  I couldn’t help but smile when the family night roving clown person stopped by to make balloon animals, or when I remarked that the kids’ birthday is in a few weeks (imagine my surprise that Princess has decided to turn 8, thus leaving Shortstop to manage 6&7 alone). 

Punkin and I had our usual joking Cody’s Roadhouse argument, about how she always steals the pepperoncinis from the salad bowl, and Shortstop ate everyone’s cucumbers.  The kids asked when we could go to my parents’ house again, so they could feed the birds.  Next month. The birds will be okay till Thanksgiving.

Dinner passed, and it was time to part. I got hugged and kissed, and my heart did that Grinch three-sizes expansion.

I came home, feeling a little better but still kind of in a funk.  Steve the Book Guy at work had given me a hilarious novel called “Company,” by Max Barry. It’s a darkly funny indictment of big companies, and I certainly recognized a lot of my coworkers.

I like my job.  It’s not perfect, but I’m good at it, and I like being able to do what I do, with and for whom I do it.  I don’t dread going back, and I’m grateful that my company is not like the caricature in “Company.”

As I read and smiled, my heart grew more contented. I was wondering what I’d been all moody about. Then I got to the bottom of page 323. The words there should have come with a thunderclap or an angelic choir. I shook my head and laughed. “Message received, Universe.”  

image

4 Responses to “You Never Know Where You’ll Find Wisdom”

  1. Life’s too short. Don’t be a dick. LOL

  2. LMAO. I should make you a T-shirt!!!

Leave a Reply

