Wednesday Night Mental Chex Mix

  • Woo-hoo! The first Mental Chex Mix under the WP banner!
  • I just hope my non sequiturs don’t break the new site.
  • I heard “Slow Dancin’ (Swayin’ to the Music)” by Johnny Rivers on the radio.  I was maybe 10 when that song came out, but I’ve always liked it.
  • I think the reason I liked it back then was because it has cricket noises in it.
  • I was a weird kid.
  • There were certain songs I first heard when I was a kid, but I didn’t really “get them” until I was older.
  • “Night Moves,” by Bob Seger, is one of them. 
  • And I knew the words! I sang along back then, even though I didn’t know what “I used her, she used me, but neither one cared.  We were gettin’ our share” meant.
  • Oh, and how heartbreaking when I looked at L___ many moons ago, and the Rod Stewart line, “The morning sun when it’s in your face really shows your age.”
  • Ouch.
  • I watched “Kick Ass” last night.  What a fun movie. 
  • Roger Ebert gave it one star out of four, saying “In one scene, she faces a hallway jammed with heavily armed gangsters and shoots, stabs and kicks them all to death, while flying through the air with such power, it’s enough to make Jackie Chan take out an AARP membership.”
  • Roger Ebert is a great film critic, and I respect him.  I thought “Kick-Ass” was a hoot, especially because of Hit Girl and the way she dismantled bad guys.
  • It would make me sad if this movie weren’t so obviously a satire.  If it were a documentary, I’d be mortified.  After watching Nicolas Cage shoot her in the chest (to show her what it would feel like with her body armor), then promise to take her for ice cream if she didn’t flinch when he shot her twice more?
  • Hysterical.  Especially when Kick-Ass shoots out the windows from his jet back, as Elvis’ “American Trilogy” soars. 
  • Like MSG, Elvis enhances movies.
  • In the bathroom here, there’s this automatic air-freshener thing, which periodically sprays pina colada scent into the air.
  • Dear air-freshener installer people:  please put these things in the stalls, so they can eradicate or mask actual poo-stank, instead of spraying me in the face when I’m trying to wash my hands.
  • And please, if I ever leave home without my glasses again, somebody smack me upside the head. 
  • Without my glasses, I feel like I’m 4 feet tall and driving a Corvette, instead of being Hagridian and driving the USS Nimitz.  Plus, staring at a computer screen for 10.5 hours has been a real hoot. 
  • I’m going to have Marty Feldman eyes when I finally leave here.
  • Anyway, I hope you’re finding a new home for your blog.  I’m happy enough with Word Press, especially with the Android app. 
  • Here’s to a happy Thursday.
  • Ob’yatiya
8 Responses to “Wednesday Night Mental Chex Mix”

  1. Kick-Ass is a terrific movie, but I shuddered even as I laughed my a$$ off. If you think too hard about it, you realize how sad it is too. I won’t spoil it for those who haven’t seen the movie, but enough bad things happen to the main characters that you wonder why everyone isn’t crying at the end.

    My kids however chided me for taking it all too seriously. “This is supposed to be a comic book, Mom! You can shoot a superhero and they don’t get hurt!”

    OK. Whatever. Nice to see you here, tom.

    • Yes. I agree with you, Professor Gozen. It could be interpreted as a sad movie, but I’ve thought the same thing about Three Stooges movies. I thought Kick Ass was just so over-the-top as to be funny, and it didn’t take itself too seriously. One observation Ebert made, with which I wholeheartedly agree, is that perhaps only Nicolas Cage could make Big Daddy shooting his daughter seem funny.

      Have a great night. 🙂

  2. christinaheart Says:

    Definitely loved Kick-Ass. It was so over the top, kind of like Shoot ‘Em Up, which I also loved. Every now and then you need to watch a movie just for what it is and not with a critical eye.

    Oh man, who in their right mind doesn’t put the air fresheners near the actual poo-stank? That doesn’t make any sense at all. I hope your face isn’t being eaten alive by the gross chemicals that are suppose to freshen the air.

  3. christinaheart Says:

    Damn. I forgot to click the “follow-up” comment box. Fixing that now.

  4. Insane as usual – glad to see that.

  5. littleoddme Says:

    Good to see the Chex Mix is alive and kicking. 😀

  6. WordPress must be reeling in confusion from our little ‘hoods relocation.

    It’s freaking awesome. 🙂

Leave a Reply

