Test Driving the New Zone

I don’t like moving.  I’ve lived in the same apartment for 12 years, and next month I’ll sign another year’s lease.  Is it perfect? Nope, but it’s home.  I know where everything is; the appliances work, and the cats know where to find food and the litter box.  Plus, I have a lovely view.

Vox was definitely not perfect.  There were tech things that drove me nuts sometimes, but it was home.  It was my first blogging home, and I liked it just fine.  I had my aurora pic at the top, and it was pleasantly calm and dark.  

I shared a lot in those pages.  I memorialized a lot of folks–personal acquaintances and “celebrities” alike.  I cooked up a whole lot of Mental Chex Mix (now with extra non sequitur!), and kayaked down the Stream of NyQuil Consciousness a few times. 

When I spent five weeks in the hospital back in 2007-2008, Vox helped me immeasurably.  Reading your posts, writing mine, and sharing comments and PM’s with you kept my mind active and saved my sanity. 

When I was able to write about what happened, you were kind and appreciative.

In many cases, our friendships have moved beyond the Voxiverse–we’ve exchanged e-mails, or chatted online, or even on the phone. (you know who you are 😉 )

During my Vox years, I almost died, spent that five weeks in the hospital, got a new job in a completely different world, got a new cat (well, a previously owned cat, anyway (the world’s most elegant feline)), celebrated lots of new births, mourned lots of deaths, made lots of memories with my friends and Dollbaby, Puddin, and Team Punkin.  In short, over the past three years, life happened to me and thee, and we shared it in Vox.

WordPress is fine.  I like it.  They made it simple to move all my 1’s and 0’s from Vox to WordPress.  I was able to move my aurora header over, and my neon Saturn pic.  WordPress does everything I can ask from a blog site–it accepts my rambling screeds, and will let me post cool pics of Ana-Sofia Vargas and space stuff.  Technically, WordPress>Vox, at least as far as I can tell.

What made Vox special was you. 

I’m writing this on WordPress, and copying it into Vox.  This will be the last post I put in Vox.  I’ll be here at tomzone.wordpress.com and Lord knows I won’t be going sane anytime soon. 

On my way back from lunch, the radio played Aerosmith’s “Tell Me What it Takes.” Not only does it have an awesome opening line–“There goes my old girlfriend; there’s another diamond ring.”  (another great one, from Joe Jackson: “Pretty women out walkin’ with gorillas down my street”)–Aerosmith created a wonderful bluesy song, with perfect lyrics for saying goodbye to Vox:

Tell me what it takes to let you go
Tell me how the pain’s supposed to go
Tell me how it is that you can sleep in the night
Without thinking you lost everything that was good in your life to the toss of the dice?
Tell me what it takes to let you go.

Okay, it’s not as bad as that.  Still, it was a great song. 

To reword Elton John, in my world, “Saturday night’s alright for writing.” Work is slow and calm, and I have time to focus elsewhere.  It’s been fun.    To people just finding me on WordPress, welcome.  And to my Vox peeps, see you on the other side.

Good night, and good luck.

7 Responses to “Test Driving the New Zone”

  1. just making sure I got you pinned down, Tom.
    this new world that has such people in it.

    if you havent’ yet, please stop by the VOX Diaspora blog http://voxdiaspora.wordpress.com and leave your new address(es) in the comments.

  2. WordPress>Vox for sure.
    Yes, Voxers were cooler. It felt like a real community.
    But seriously, WordPress is better.
    Welcome 🙂

    Although I miss being able to say This is Good 😦

  3. Hey you. WH here. Glad I got you successfully in my blog surfer. good to see you here!

  4. Hey! I miss the vox of old. Glad I met you there.

  5. I think so many of us moved to WordPress that soon it’ll be hard to tell the difference. 🙂

  6. Vox may have been an asshole, but it was OUR asshole, to paraphrase the well-known saying.

    I’m going to miss the heck out of Vox, but it sure is nice to be able to make a post without something crashing. (Other than the vase my kids knocked over. You know what I mean.)

Leave a Reply

