Things on Tuesday

Random, non-judgmental thought prelude:

  • The 7-Eleven had Corn Nuts buy one get one free.  Tasty snack, but somewhere, I imagine there are some pretty pissed-off, castrato ears of corn gingerly walking around.
  • I’ve checked—my voice hasn’t grown any deeper.
  • I’ve noticed the following safety hazard: I’ve nearly fallen to my face-planted death more from the “CAUTION! WET FLOOR!” sign than from the actual wet floor.  If the cleaning crew wouldn’t put the damn sign in the middle of the floor, where it impedes my size 15 feet, visiting the facilities would be a far safer experience.
  • Memo to the drunk guy in the 7-Eleven last night: as gaggingly dense as your trailing cloud of Canoe was, the Bourbon was still plainly obvious on your breath.  It’s the 7-Eleven, for crying out loud: nobody expects you to be sober at 0130.  They get it.
  • Memo to the other drunk guy: the County has determined that no beer can be sold after midnight.  No, this is not just on Fridays.  The County doesn’t have a different cut-off time for each day of the week.  Thank you, btw, for turning south out of the parking lot, and not north, where I was going.
  • I watched three films over the weekend, JFK, Capote, and Wag the Dog.  Most films have decent acting, but these three? Phillip Seymour Hoffman’s performance as Truman Capote is one of the best I’ve ever seen.  He deserves his Oscar and every other award he won.  JFK had a stellar cast.  Kevin Costner was good as Jim Garrison, but everyone else just killed: Jack Lemmon, Joe Pesci, Walter Matthau, Kevin Bacon, Michael Rooker, John Candy, Sissy Spacek, and a zillion others.  Wag the Dog put Dustin Hoffman and Robert DeNiro together—both in top form—and added Anne Heche, who was surprisingly good.  Woody Harrelson has a funny extended cameo, and Willie Nelson and Denis Leary kick ass.
  • I’ve always kind of had a crush on Sissy Spacek.
  • We had a thunderstorm Friday that blew a giant air conditioner off the roof of my building. Nobody was maimed or crushed, thank God, but it left a giant hole in the roof.
  • If we get a hurricane and they want me to work? They can kiss my ass.

Things on Tuesday:

Blech:

  • Two of my friends have lost loved ones this past week.  The situations are very different, but the end result is the same: death sucks for those left behind.  I just hate that I can't say the perfect sentence to assuage their pain.  (I'm usually pretty good, but this is impossible)
  • We have to move at work.  I love where I sit right now–I have my Punkin to my left, and work-wife Aimee behind me–but we have to move (we're getting more people, so our area's moving). 

Yummmm:

  • I'm weird, but I like summer in Florida.  I'll be sick of it by October, but the heat and perpetual moistness? I kinda like that.
  • I have a job I like, and the people I'll be sitting with are awesome–not Punkin and Work-Wife awesome, but awesome enough.
  • Corn Nuts for breakfast! (Who knew you could consume these things without beer?)
  • There's gas in the USS Nimitz, my bills are paid, and I have enough Meow Mix brand cat fuel that Ana-Sofia Vargas and Wind won't be killing and eating me anytime soon.
  • Stacey reports ten fingers (although one is sprained and splinted at the moment), ten toes, one belly button, and  a steady pulse.  I'm at 10-10-1-and steady as well
  • Have a great week.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

4 Responses to “Things on Tuesday”

  1. I'm pretty sure your voice couldn't get any deeper… even if you ate a MILLION corn nuts. hehe. 😛

  2. Falling over a safety sign has to be associated with some kind of Existential philosophy somewhere (or maybe Buddhist).

  3. Wag the Dog is one of my favorites.

  4. YAAAAYYYY for Tom-posts!
    So glad to see the good outweighing the bad for ya, Tom!

Leave a Reply

