Friday Feast meme (thanks Connie)

Feast One Hundred & Ninety Four

June 20th, 2008.

Appetizer

If you could live on another continent for 1 year, which one would you choose?

Eurasia.  There are lots of places I'd want to stay for a month or two, from India to the Philippines to Germany to the UK to Scandanavia, etc.  I think I'd just get stressed out or pissed-off if I had to try to cram all of Europe into a week's vacation.  It'd be like somebody visiting Disney World, and thinking they'd really visited the US.

Soup

Which browser do you use to surf the Internet?

The lovely Firefox.  It's fast, friendly, and free, plus it works better than anything else I've tried.

Salad

On a scale of 1-10 (with 10 being highest), how much do you know about the history of your country?

7.  I know a lot, but I know enough to know that I don't know more.  (Thank God it wasn't a sentence-writing question!)

Main Course

Finish this sentence:  Love is…messy.

Dessert

Have you ever been in or near a tornado?

I was doing the weather once, and as I talked, a tornado came down from the sky.  It touched down briefly a few miles away, then went back up.  To my credit, I didn't lose it. 

Friday Fill-In #77

  1. A smile is a bad idea if you've eaten Oreos.
  2. Trivial Pursuit is my favorite board or card game.
  3. I would love to have more stability in my life and less unmitigated chaos.
  4. When I think of the Summer Solstice, I think of my mom's birthday.
  5. I just remembered I need to show up for jury duty Tuesday morning, or else be cast off to Gitmo
  6. One of my favorite song lyrics goes like this:

The sky was Bible black in Lyon
When I met the Magdalene.
She was paralyzed in her streetlight
She refused to give her name
And a ring of violet bruises
They were pinned upon her arm.
Two hundred francs for sanctuary
And she led me by the hand
To a room of dancing shadows
Where all the heartache disappeared
And from the glowing tongues of candles,
I heard her whisper in my ear,
"J'entend ton coeur; J'entend ton coeur.
I can hear your heart."

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

11 Responses to “Friday Feast meme (thanks Connie)”

  1. Wonderful reading…and the lyrics….I gots goosebumps! πŸ˜€

  2. I thank you, and Marillion thanks you. πŸ˜‰

  3. Heyyyyyyy wait a minute – Eurasia isn't an official continent! πŸ˜›

  4. Dammit, arbed, don't go throwing facts up in my grill! lol

  5. Awwww, you couldn't get angry with someone as "adorable" as me!<flashes dimple, takes red pen and deducts a point from tom's paper on Continents of the World>

  6. You are adorable, and I'm a sucker for dimples. <checks Wikipedia: "Eurasia is considered a supercontinent, part of the supercontinent of Afro-Eurasia or simply a continent in its own right." Grabs red pen, and adds half of his deducted point back.>BTW, as long as you don't torment my kitty or kick me in the nardsack, I don't really get angry. πŸ˜‰

  7. well phooey to you, mr wikipedia<grudgingly allows the half point back while biting tongue to not point out that the question asked about living on another continent, not a supercontinent>I have my own kitty to torment, and never really got a thrill out of inflicting pain on others, so I guess I'm safe!

  8. Love is patient, love is kind, love is messy… Yup, I'm pretty sure that was in the original version, but some second-century scribe omitted it during a bout of sleepy transcription.LOVED the lyrics you posted. I must search out that song.

  9. i love trivial pursuit. except that i suck at it. 😦 heh.

  10. It's Marillion, "Blue Angel," from their excellent 1985 prog-rock cd "Misplaced Childhood."As far as the scribe, like lots of scripture, it may have been mistranslated. πŸ˜‰

  11. A smile is a bad idea if you've eaten Oreos.LMAO!

Leave a Reply

