Monday Thought for the Day

Living, there is no happiness in that. Living: carrying one's painful self through the world. But being, being is happiness. Being: becoming a fountain, a fountain on which the universe falls like warm rain."  (Milan Kundera, from "Immortality")

When I get overly stressed, I usually find that I'm spending too much mental and spiritual energy "living," and that I've lost the peaceful contentment of simply "being."

Happy Monday, my rain-dappled fountains.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

9 Responses to “Monday Thought for the Day”

  1. This is where watching sunsets from the beach kick in for me. 🙂 Can't force a wave, can't force a sunset. Just gotta sit there, hang out, and watch it happen. I hope you are not too stressed. Hang in there, friend.

  2. Sunsets are good. We have some beauts here, too. I'm not stressed at all, really. I just found that quote again, and I read a good post about living vs being. It's all serendipitous; I thought I'd share it, and go on about my happy way. 😉

  3. [this is better than good; this is wonderful] Oh, yes…… 🙂

  4. This post reminds me of a plaza with a fountain of water that shoots up and down at a local mall in my area. Children and adults alike come and run in and out of the fountain. It is not only a lot of fun but provides everyone with a way to relax even if we are just watching. We can forget all our cares and just be happy watching the fountain and the children.

  5. One of my favorite places to sit is in a park in my neighborhood that has a recreated Victorian garden in part of it. And in the middle of the garden is a multitiered ornate fountain that always has pigeons coming and going to have a bath and take a drink. I could sit on a bench and watch it all day.

  6. I'm right there with you, buddy:-) I guess that's why I haven't been around lately. I've been spending a lot of time just living and can't get back to the "being" part of life. I hope it happens for both of us soon:-)

  7. You'll find your fountain soon enough, M. Good to hear from you. =)

  8. Great image. There's something equalizing and fascinating about fountains, I guess. When I was in college, my girlfriend and I used to take long walks, frequently ending up at the State Supreme Court. They had a big fountain there, and we'd invariably end up splashing each other, or even just sitting there, "being" beside it. Thanks for the comment.

  9. There was a cool little fountain like that in Furman U's rose garden. I used to escape there when I got sick of my fellow eager young minds. Very peaceful. I always find my lake to be far more entertaining and relaxing than any tv show or movie. Sounds like you and your pigeons have the same sort of arrangement.

Leave a Reply

