Pretty little jewels

My grandparents took me to Hawaii when I was eight.  I had a ball, but I wish I'd been a little older so I could have appreciated it more.  I'm just glad I appreciated my grandparents to the fullest–they rocked.  It looks different from up here.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

7 Responses to “Pretty little jewels”

  1. I've never been. :(Someday…

  2. Dude, you have no excuse! I know where you live, remember! ;)Seriously though.. I'd never been until about 3 years ago, and my kid was 11 which was too young. And we went to Honolulu/Waikiki, which in reality is just the shit hole of teh Hawaiian Islands. I mean: I love the show LOST, but Oahu is not the place to go if you want to really see Hawaii. The saddest moment for me, was going scuba diving at the hanaukanuma bay, or however you spell it. Talk about a reef on the overdue side of recovery/preservation, that was it. I saw a sea turtle but that was it. Barely any sign of corals or symbiotic fish. After scuba diving off of Cozumel, Mexico (which was also a highly visited locale), H. bay was almost embarrassing. I bashed my head and ribs into the reef though, so at the time I didn't care about preserving hawaii. (that accident prone thing again. You people think I'm kidding)I think my kid thinks of his grandparents like you do. I"m going to have to convince them to start traveling with him… ;)Altho… I've plans to take him to Europe, and okay, okay: Hawaii again as well: Kauai this time. Poipu Beach in particular….

  3. We stayed on Waikiki, too, but we took lots of day trips, including a whole day exploring the big island. That was awesome. I remember my grandfather cried a little at Pearl Harbor. He'd served in Europe in the aftermath of D-Day, but the Arizona Memorial got him. I spent most of my time in the hotel pool, while they drank Planter's Punch and we all got sunburned. Excellent.

  4. i have lots 2 say, but little means 2 say so…. hotel pools are a good thing sometimes. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. that sounds so great! i love that you had such a wonderful relationship with your g-parents… the way mia's going, she will also love and appreciate her g-parents. ๐Ÿ™‚ they all adore each other. it's super-cute. hehe.gosh. i want to go to hawaii RIGHT NOW. hehe ๐Ÿ˜›

  6. Can anyone else see the fish? The island and the clouds look like a fishie!

  7. Actually–strangely–I can see the fishie, now that you pointed it out. I never knew a satellite photo of Hawaii could be a Rorschach test.

Leave a Reply

