Happy New Year, not from ICU

I can't believe it's 2008.  I'm a bit disappointed, frankly.  I remember the TV show Space 1999.  Nothing.  2001: A Space Odyssey? Nope.  Flying cars like in The Jetsons? Same old cars, and they aren't even all that great.  We still have crappy wars, and the American League still uses the designated hitter. 

But there are some good things here in 2008.  One of them is that people are still capable of love and compassion and kindness.  Another is that medical science has come up with some pretty incredible stuff.  Another is that I'm alive.

Thanks to everybody who's PM'd me or sent me good vibes and prayers, etc.  I'm still in the hospital, but it's mainly as a precaution at this point.  I had one hell of a nasty infection.  The docs have been pouring IV antibiotics into me for the past 10 days, and they've managed to beat the infection back.  I'm pretty much climbing the walls, but that means I'm getting better. 

This is definitely not the holiday vacation package I'd have chosen.  I'd have picked New Orleans, or Jamaica, or Guam.  I'd have happily stayed home and cleaned.  I wasn't given my choice, though.  Often in life, we aren't. 
My friend, M, just began her third tour in Iraq.  Friends of mine have lost loved ones recently.  Many people across this country have lost jobs.  

I've been in the hospital for 12 days, seven of which were in intensive care.  I've had two surgeries, and I suspect each IV bag the nurses hang would equal a couple car payments.  But I will be out of here in a few days.  I have great insurance, which will pay for most of my bills.  I've had friends and family visit me every day, and my phone has been ringing like mad.  Life could be much worse.

As Tom Petty sang once, "I'm just happy to be here, happy to be alive." 

I wish you all the happiness and health and prosperity a year can bring in 2008. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

8 Responses to “Happy New Year, not from ICU”

  1. I'm glad you're going nuts – it's a very good sign πŸ™‚ Still sending good vibes into Tom-land!

  2. I can't believe you're still in the hospital. I hope you're given a clean bill of health and are out and about pronto!

  3. hurry outta there i miss my tom!get better im thinking about you

  4. Happy New Year, Tom. πŸ™‚

  5. Dude, I am SO sorry I missed all this! I wasn't here much these past couple weeks and now I wish I'd have at least popped in on a couple peeps.Happy New Year to you, Tom. I hope you're out and about soon.(BTW, as much as I hate to admit it considering the topic, your post about the onset of this had me cracking up.)

  6. Glad you are on the upswing. What a hellishly spooky time you've had.

  7. ((((((((((((((((((((((hugs))))))))))))))))))))))) and a big fat rhino-virus-laden SMOOOOOOOOOOOOCH!!!!!!!! Still have my cold but it's going away. I've been here but sporadically– didn't realized you did the update — I'm sorry. I'm a bad friend.Are you home now? Is Kitten still speaking to you? Sweetie says, HI. Please take care and be good and do what they say and GET BETTER!!!!!!!!!OK, I'm leaving now, but I 'll be back soon. πŸ™‚

  8. Tom asked me to let you all know that he is healing, but is in a new location and he won't have internet access for about two weeks.

Leave a Reply

