BBAW Reading Interview Meme

(I stole this from Kelly, who got it from one of her fellow book mavens. As Kelly is my book maven, who has led me to some wonderful books I’d never have found otherwise, I stole it from her)

Do you snack while you read? If so, favorite reading snack?

I do, sometimes (usually popcorn). I’m less worried about this when reading using the Kindle app, since butter stains aren’t permanent on them. Also, I don’t snack while reading books I’ve borrowed from somebody. I do laugh, however, when I find a pizza sauce stain in their book, for I know they are a snacking reader.

Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?

No. The worst I would do is write a discreet note on the endpage (e.g., p.143 (paragraph symbol) 3 ln 3) if there were something I’d want to reference later. Again, never in a borrowed book. I do find myself highlighting and marking more on the e-book, although I still never go back and review my markers. But by God, if I ever needed that awesome line, I’d know where to find it.

How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears?

I use a bookmark, one unique to that book. It could be a business card, a pizza coupon, a grocery store receipt, whatever. I just use one bookmark per book, and I leave it in there, so if I reread the book later, I have the same bookmark for it. This is what experts call “DORKY!” I don’t even know why I started doing it. Also, I call in outside help. For my current book, I’m using a Southern Living subscription card I found in the mechanic’s waiting room, as well as Wind.

Fiction, Non-fiction, or both?

Nearly always fiction. I like some biographies, but only if they’re non-boringly written. There’s nothing worse than having a dreary book about a vibrant person’s exciting life.
 
Hard copy or audiobooks?

I like paperbacks, trade or mass-market, better than hardcovers (I can hold them in one hand more comfortably). However, the Kindle app makes it possible for me to walk around with dozens of books, some of which I haven’t started yet)

Are you a person who tends to read to the end of chapters, or are you able to put a book down at any point?

I try to stop at the end of chapters exclusively. When I get to a chapter end, I’ll look ahead to see how long the next chapter is before starting it. It seems like the reason the author wrote the book that way.

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop to look it up right away?

I love Kelly’s answer, and I agree with it 99% of the time: “This is going to sound bitchy probably but I generally know what words mean.” The exception was when I was reading a bunch of 18th and 19th Century books earlier this year. There were some words that were so germaine to that era, that their use (thankfully) had ended before my time. In all of these cases, they were on the Kindle thing, so I just touched the word, and a definition appeared. Very handy. Sadly, this doesn’t work on print books, so in those rare cases, I just figure it out from context. Eh. Sometimes, I will use my dictionary (app), if I feel motivated.

What are you currently reading?

Damn. “Explosive Eighteen,” by Janet Evanovich. (Why couldn’t this have been when I was reading something like “Ulysses”?? lol) I got my friend Cathy hooked on the early Stephanie Plum series, and she buys the new ones as soon as they hit paperback, then gives them to me to read as soon as she’s done, so I just got 18. Guilty pleasure.

What is the last book you bought?

A Boy’s Life, by Robert McGammon

Are you the type of person that only reads one book at a time or can you read more than one at a time?

I only read one at a time, but I can put a book on hold and read another one during the interruption. For example, I was reading “Dracula,” I think, when Kelly convinced me to read “Ready, Player One.” I started that, and read it in one day. Then I went back to “Dracula.” I couldn’t read a Drac chapter, then a RP1 chapter, repeat. That would bother me.

Do you have a favorite time of day and/or place to read?

Whenever I have a block of time, I enjoy reading. I don’t like reading 15 minutes on my break. I get too involved in books, and I don’t like to switch them on and off for short bursts. I like reading lying on my bed. I just always have. (note: This is why many of my books have cat hair in them)

Do you prefer series books or stand alone books?

It depends on the book or series. Sometimes, I find myself playing “catch-up,” where I’ll read an entire series somebody recommended to me (e.g., The Soul Screamers series). Then, when I have to wait another year for the next book, I sometimes lose interest.

Is there a specific book or author that you find yourself recommending over and over?

“Ready Player One,” “The Fault in Our Stars,” and John Mortimer’s  “Paradise Postponed.” Nobody ever reads “Paradise Postponed,” so little so that it’s out of print. Sad, too. It’s an awesome, funny, very smart little book.

How do you organize your books? (By genre, title, author’s last name, etc.?)

I don’t keep a lot of books around, especially what I call “supermarket paperback series” books. Some of these are interesting–John Sandford’s various, interwoven series. Others, I just find enjoyable to blast through, then give away. (Catherine Coulter’s FBI novels, eg) I keep books I think I’ll want to reread in the future (The Millenium Trilogy, e.g.). All my Harry Potters except two are on my PDA, and I have a hundred or so on the Kindle thingy, so those are just always there. When I moved back to St Pete from my parents’ house, I cleaned out all the books I no longer needed. The rest are gone to Goodwill. Goodwill got about 10 times as many as I kept.

I guess that’s it. Back to Stephanie Plum. I mean, Ulysses.  ;-) Happy Wednesday, and thanks Kelly.

8 Responses to “BBAW Reading Interview Meme”

  1. Love this meme! It’s one I might actually answer. Although I say that all the time and rarely do.
    Reading is one of my favorite things to do.

  2. You know, you could have just said you were reading “Ulysses”… ;)

    • Or, better yet, waited an hour till I was DONE with the stupid Stephanie Plum novel, so I could say I’m reading “The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet,” a brilliant novel GingerSister sent me. Damn it! ;-)

  3. [...] and Tom both did this good set of interview questions from BBAW (Book Bloggers Appreciation Week) and I [...]

  4. I liked Ready Player One. I too pause books to read others. Found this via Steve.

    • Ready, Player One made me feel like a fossil, since he kept talking about all these “historical” games I used to play in arcades. Especially at the end: Tempest was my favorite.

      Welcome.

  5. I think I’m going to steal this.
    Yay!

  6. [...] got this from Tom. Who got it from someone [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 330 other followers

